Is Candy Gluten-Free? | (2024)

Some candies are gluten-free while others are not. Some may have no gluten-containing ingredients but still not be safe for those with celiac disease due to cross-contamination on manufacturing lines. Some mini versions of products have different ingredients from the original size. It’s always best to read labels and check regularly, in case ingredients or facilities have changed. If you’re unsure, contact the manufacturer directly.

Note: Beyond Celiac is a US-based company, therefore this list is primarily for those buying candy in the US. Some candies may be produced in different ways in different countries. This list is updated infrequently, so it’s always good practice to double-check with the manufacturer.

Is Candy Gluten-Free? | (1)

Gluten-Free Candy by Maker


Hershey keeps an updated list on their website. Their gluten-free candies include:

  • Almond Joy – all except Almond Joy Pieces candy
  • Heath
  • Hershey’s milk chocolate kisses
  • Hershey’s milk chocolate bars (1.55oz only)
  • Milk Duds
  • Mounds
  • Payday
  • Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups – all except seasonal shaped items
  • Rolo Caramels in Milk Chocolate Candies – all except Rolo Minis
  • York Peppermint Patties – all except York Pieces Candy, Sugar Free Peppermint Patties, York Minis, and York Shapes (5 oz.)

Hershey candy that does not contain gluten but is not explicitly gluten-free includes:

  • Jolly Ranchers

Hershey candy that contains gluten includes:

  • Twizzlers
  • Kit Kat
  • Whoppers

Mars Wrigley

Mars Wrigley does not specifically label any of their products gluten-free, but state that they will include any gluten-containing ingredients on their labels. The following Mars candies have no gluten-containg ingredients:

  • M&Ms (except pretzel, crispy, and potentially seasonal items)
  • Milky Way Caramel Bars (not the original Milky Way Bar)
  • Snickers Bars
  • 3 Musketeers
  • Dove Chocolate products (all flavors except milk chocolate cinnamon graham/cookies and cream, and some holiday varieties, such as milk chocolate truffles)
  • Lifesavers (gummies, hards, and mints)

The following Mars products, among others, are not gluten-free:

  • Twix
  • Maltesers
  • Mars Bars (does not contain wheat, but does have barley malt)


Nestlé calls out a few of their candies as being gluten-free, these include but are not limited to:

  • Butterfinger Bars, fun size
  • Butterfinger Bars, single
  • Goobers
  • Raisinets

They also have candies with no gluten-containing ingredients, but not labeled gluten-free, including:

  • Baby Ruth
  • Oh-Henry!
  • Sno-caps
  • Pixy Stix

The following Nestle products, among others, are not gluten-free:

  • Nerds
  • 100 Grand


Ferrara says on their website: “For every Ferrara product that contains allergens, we list a CONTAINS statement […] If there is no CONTAINS statement following the ingredient list, then the product has no allergens. Additionally, Ferrara uses a MADE IN statement, which reflects any allergens within the manufacturing facility where the product is made out.” However, they do not keep a list of gluten-free candies on their website.

Candy from Ferrara that does not have gluten-containing ingredients include:

  • Laffy Taffy
  • Jujyfruits
  • Trolli gummy worms
  • Sweet Tarts (original and chewy)
  • Gobstopper

Enjoy Life

Enjoy Life has a range of chocolate bars that are gluten-free including:

  • Enjoy Life Dark Chocolate Bar
  • Enjoy Life Ricemilk Chocolate Bar
  • Enjoy Life Ricemilk Crunch
  • Enjoy Life Winter Dark Chocolate Minis


Mondelez has candy that does not use gluten-containing ingredients, but they do not always use dedicated lines. If a candy was not produced on a dedicated line, it should say that on the packaging. Candies without gluten-containing ingredients include:

  • Swedish Fish
  • Sour Patch Kids


Additional gluten-free candies include:

To learn more about gluten and candy, please watch the recording of our Facebook Live video, where we discuss gluten-free Halloween candy and chocolate bars:

Is Candy Gluten-Free? | (2024)


Is Candy Gluten-Free? | ›

Some candies are gluten-free while others are not.

Is the candy gluten-free? ›

Most big brands in the candy industry, like Hershey, Wrigley, Nestle, and Ferrero, have gluten-free candies. Gluten-free candy can be contaminated by poor maintenance of manufacturer lines. It's possible to make your own gluten-free confectionery like hard candy, gummies, and candy bars.

Is Snickers gluten-free for celiacs? ›

Is Snickers gluten free? Almost all types of Snickers are considered gluten-free, as they do not contain gluten ingredients and are not processed on equipment that processes gluten-containing ingredients. The only exception is Snickers Hi Protein bars and Snickers ice cream, which are not gluten-free.

Can celiacs have Hershey Kisses? ›

There are 50+ HERSHEY'S KISSES products labeled as gluten free. Always refer to each package for current ingredients and allergen statements to make an informed decision about Hershey products. If you have additional questions, contact Customer Service or explore our gluten free labeled Hershey products.

What are the most popular gluten-free candy? ›

Some candies that are safe for people with gluten food allergies include Airheads, Skittles, Smarties, Sour Patch Kids, Starbursts, 3 Musketeers, Snickers, and most varieties of M&Ms. Be sure to avoid pretzel M&Ms, crispy M&Ms, and seasonal Reese's shapes, since these candies contain gluten.

Are M&M's gluten-free? ›

Most M&M varieties are technically gluten-free and typically have the same base ingredients (like milk, soy, and chocolate). However, M&Ms are not distinctly advertised as gluten-free – and Mars Wrigley has never stated that they're processed on separate equipment from gluten-containing products.

Are Twizzlers gluten-free? ›

Are TWIZZLERS Candies suitable for those with a gluten intolerance? TWIZZLERS products are not gluten-free because they include wheat as an ingredient. While these particular products are not gluten-free, we do offer other gluten-free products.

Can celiacs have almonds? ›

Yes, all single-ingredient nuts are gluten-free. That means the label will list just one ingredient, the nuts. Gluten-free nuts include (but are not limited to) peanuts, almonds, walnuts, cashews, chestnuts, pecans, pistachios, hazelnuts, pine, macadamia and Brazil nuts.

Can celiacs eat almond flour? ›

Because almond flour is gluten-free, it is also a helpful option for people with celiac disease. Almond flour is made from ground almonds and can replace wheat flour in just about any recipe. It's easy to make at home, or you can buy it in supermarkets and health food stores.

Are Reese's gluten-free? ›

Yes, all Reese's are gluten-free, including with the exception of seasonal Reese's varieties. If you check the ingredient label, you'll see that Reese's are made with naturally gluten-free ingredients like milk chocolate, lecithin (soy), peanuts, sugar, dextrose, salt, TBHQ, and citric acid (to maintain freshness).

Are Kit Kats gluten-free? ›

Are KitKats® gluten free? Unfortunately they aren't but we're always working on new breaks that everyone can enjoy! Have you tried our KITKAT® Bunny, they're gluten free and delicious! Find the full list of products suitable for a gluten free diet here.

Is Starburst gluten-free? ›

The answer is: Yes! If you live in the United States, almost all Starburst products and flavors are made with gluten-free ingredients. So you can add them to your safe list! However, if you're buying Starbursts in different countries, it's best to check the label.

Are M&M's celiac safe? ›

According to laboratory tests conducted by Gluten Free Watchdog in March 2021, M&M's Milk Chocolate Candies were tested to contain less than 5 parts per million of Gluten. While that was one batch of M&Ms tested on one day a couple of years ago, it suggests that M&Ms are in fact Celiac safe.

Are Snickers 100% gluten-free? ›

Snickers bars don't contain any gluten ingredients, BUT… they're not labeled as gluten-free. And a lot of people online write about reacting to them, even though they're “just” intolerant and don't have celiac disease.

Do Skittles have gluten? ›

If you have a sweet tooth, we have great news! If you check the product label of different flavors of Skittles, you will see that all Skittles are gluten free, from the original variety to limited-time flavors.

Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Velia Krajcik

Last Updated:

Views: 6372

Rating: 4.3 / 5 (54 voted)

Reviews: 85% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Velia Krajcik

Birthday: 1996-07-27

Address: 520 Balistreri Mount, South Armand, OR 60528

Phone: +466880739437

Job: Future Retail Associate

Hobby: Polo, Scouting, Worldbuilding, Cosplaying, Photography, Rowing, Nordic skating

Introduction: My name is Velia Krajcik, I am a handsome, clean, lucky, gleaming, magnificent, proud, glorious person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.